Apprentice Contributor
Galen B

Which lathe would you recommend for a beginner?

My sister would like to buy a lathe for her husband for Christmas.  He would like to use it to make spindles, lamps, possibly bowls and pens.  I am a woodworker but do not use a lathe much at all and can't help her in what to buy.  I sure would appreciate any help that you can provide as to which model would be good to get.  She does not want to go cheap but does not need a Mercedez either.  What would be a good lathe for a beginner?  Any recommended sources?

Veteran Contributor
ric47

Re: Which lathe would you recommend for a beginner?

The new Delta 46-460 woul dbe a good one to start with.

Honored Advisor
JL North GA

As stated - the Delta 46-460 would be good.  They can get a bed extension.  Another thought is the Jet 1220 VS.  They can also get a bed extension for that.

The nice thing about a mini lathe is that you don't really "outgrow" them.  If you get really into turning later, they can be resold at a reasonable price - but many keep their minis - because they are handy.

Honored Advisor
RussBoyd

Also, check out the Ricon. An extension bed is also available.

"If you can't hide it...advertise it!"
Community Manager
MSWOODcraft

[ Edited ]

Here's another vote for the Jet Mini.    I used mine for about five years before upgrading to a Jet 1442.    Happily (!!) the 1442 had the same thread count and pitch as the Mini, so all of my adapters and accessories were a 1:1 fit. 

I've still got my Mini.  In a future time in life (read: when I move in a few years) I'll set up the Mini with the Beall triple polishing system and otherwise run it side-by-side as the 1442.

And why did I pick the Jet brand?   I looked at the lathe demonstrators at the WW'ing shows over the course of several years and 100% of them used the Jet Mini.  It spoke volumes to me about its long-term reliability.

Best,

Matt Seiler
Wood Online Moderator

Veteran Contributor
Andy K.