Advisor
Marlen_at_WOOD

Tool Review--Carter Products' Hollow Roller

[ Edited ]

Like kids in a candy store, the editors at WOOD salivate at the opportunity to test new tools. What’s really challenging, and a lot of fun, is when we are able to test tools in areas of our expertise.

I’ve been hollow-turning for nearly thirty years and cut my teeth using John Lea’s Arizona Toothpicks. These straight shafted tools have either a welded carbide cutter or an adjustable cutter. John’s tools served me well and allowed me to produce many quality vessels. But it did take a bit of brute strength when using them to keep the tool from rotating a quarter turn on the tool rest when the tip made contact with the spinning vessel. When I heard we had the opportunity to try Carter Products’ new Hollow Roller™ Vessel Turning System, I jumped at the chance to test a system that would allow me to concentrate my efforts on guiding the tool rather than fighting its natural tendency to rotate with the workpiece.

Out of the box the Hollow Roller required little set up. It consists of just three basic components; the tool rest, the torque arrestor, and the cutting tool. Because the diameter of mounting holes in tool rests are not standard, you need to specify the hole diameter of your tool rest when ordering for the correct-sized adapter stud used to mount the torque arrestor to your particular tool rest base.

For the test piece, I epoxied a large piece of spalted maple to a wood auxiliary faceplate.

Carter-Hollow-Roller-003DS.jpg

I mounted the piece to the headstock, slid the tailstock in place for support, and at a low speed, turned the blank exterior to shape.

Carter-Hollow-Roller-006DS.jpg

My 11”-diamter turned piece had several large cracks that I filled with epoxy.

Carter-Hollow-Roller-019DS.jpg