Contributor
hmsw8482

Acrylic pen blanks splitting-how to stop it.

Hi everyone, I'm new to turning and have turned a few pens using Penn State Industries material with pretty good results I think.  But now I've split the last 3 acrylic blanks and am pretty dismayed at that with Christmas coming and the gifts in the trash now.  The blanks split just as the brad point pierces the end and the flutes tear the blank apart.  I'm drilling on the slowest speed (620?) and going slow and clearing the chips...anything I else I should do?  Should I be using a regular bit and not a brad point?  Any other tips I should know?  

FYI: the splits were when drilling a 3/8 hole in a 3/4 in. blank and 8mm holes in 5/8 blank acrylic and acrylester blanks.

Thanks for your help and advice.

Jim 

Advisor
Rrandy

Re: Acrylic pen blanks splitting-how to stop it.

At least two ways around this problem.

First, put a piece of scrap wood under the blank and push the blank down tight and tighten the vise. Pretty much have to have a vise for this to work.

Second, cut the blank long by at least the point on the drill. Say 3/8ths of an inch longer. Now mark the drill bit somehow so the full diameter of the drill goes the length of the tube plus a tad more. For instance; the tube is 2 and 1/4 inches long then make the blank 2 5/8 inches long or more. Now measure up on the drill bit 2 5/16 or 2 3/8 inches, this is the full diameter only not including the point, and put some tape around the bit so the bottom edge of the tape stops you as it enters the blank. You've now drilled a hole a little deeper than the tube. Take the blank and carefully measure a 1/16th longer than the tube and cut the end with no hole off. Should leave you a blank with a hole just longer than the tube. Glue the tube in and after it dries sand the excess from the ends so the tube is flush with the end of the blank and turn and finish.

Never do anything you don't want to explain to the EMT.

Advisor
Rrandy