Apprentice Visitor
brianmallette

Things That Are A Must For Wood Shop?

I am new to this..I have just recently built a loft bed out of scratch for my son. It wasn't exactly what I wanted since not all of it was squared, etc... The thing is I really enjoyed doing this. So I think I might take on other projects. Now I have a circular saw, router w/table, drills, but what do I need to be a good wood worker. What types of tools (power)? If I want to build a shop in my garage what would I need? Do you need a planer, table saw, miter saw? What is it? Do you need a vacuum system? We are building a new house and I want ideas and must haves for the garage so please can you help?

Veteran Contributor
demardist86

Re: Things That Are A Must For Wood Shop?

In my opinion 1. Table Saw 2. Dust collection 3. Good Square. 3. Sander. Stop there for now. How many cars do you have? Add  one more garage than you have cars if you can.If not extra deep  Good Lighting. 200 Amp electric service. Insulation in garage with walls. If possible enough height to lift a 8' sheet.  Where do you live ? maybe heat.

Start wih these basics. Good Luck Marvin.

Veteran Advisor
Gary K.

Yep, it sure is satisfying to build something useful, huh?  When I look around at the the things I have made and then think of the different operations to accomplish them, I would say that I use my table saw for at least 70% of my work. The center of my woodworking world is my Unisaw.

You might want to think of utilizing wheels for under some of your bigger tools. I have never had a garage shop but we will be moving in the near future and there will be no basement in our new home. (a first for us)

Looks like I'll be sharing my space with LOML's automobile.

Good luck and have fun,

Keedy

" Anyone who isn't confused here, doesn't really know what's going on."

I used to be indecisive. Now I'm not so sure. People tell me I'm argumentative, but I beg to differ. All I know is it's bad luck to be superstitious.