Apprentice Member
tracer1315

Water Heater Dangers?

I am new to wood working and still trying to set up my shop in the garage. The water heater for the house is in the gargae also. I was wondering how much of a fire danger this could be. And what is the best way to prevent anything from happening. I assume that dust collection would help, however not haveing enough money for anything nicer then a shop vac. So what can I do?

Advisor
Rrandy

Re: Water Heater Dangers?

An electric heater is no real problem. With a gas heater you should not use any flammable aerosols or paints or other volatile liquids in the area unless really well ventilated. Any accumulation of fumes could and most likely will be catastrophic. Sa far as dust goes any collection device should keep that from being a problem...I use a gas heater to warm an oversized single car garage but don't do anything to create a lot of dust next to the heater. When the heater is running I will not use aerosols or anything flammable closed up in there with the heater. If I can smell the vapors the garage door goes up and the fire goes out before using whatever. I may be a hot dog but I don't wanna be a crispy critter.

Never do anything you don't want to explain to the EMT.

Apprentice Member
tracer1315

I knew about anything flammable of course being near the water heater, those are stored on the otherside of the garage. Anytime I am working in the garage both doors are open, so the fumes are not really a problem. I am mainly worried about the dust collecting at the bottom. Oh and it is a gas heater.

I also like the saying you have at the bottom of your posts. My wife is an EMT so explanations of me getting hurt are twice has bad.

Thanks again

Honored Advisor
stick48668

If there is any way to vent that heater to the outdoors .. Do it...

build a small room around the heater and add a make air vent at the floor with a air vent at the ceiling...