Contributor
harry_rutland

Patching Holes for Insulation

Hello all--

I just had cellulose insulation blown into our exterior walls, the process for which consists of drilling a whole bunch of approximately 1 1/2 inch holes between studs, sticking a hose up to it, and filling it until it'll take no more.

One section of my house has...I'm not quite sure how to describe it...sort of vertical wood siding: a flat wood surface with decorative 1X2s about every 18 inches or so. My problem is, while I had a plasterer fix the holes in the stucco, this wood section is left with about 20 holes, which only have a loose-fitting wooden plug in them (not the original piece). I need to fix those holes with a patch that will last well against the weather and look good (i.e., be invisible after it's finished and repainted). I'll be doing it myself, and I'm just a novice DIY-er, so anything industrial, toxic or requiring much skill is beyond my reach!

This is all brand-new to me, so any suggestions would be appreciated--if I don't figure this out, I think my wife will make me walk the plank....

Many thanks,

Eric

Advisor
Rrandy

Re: Patching Holes for Insulation

Have you thought about covering the holes with something "decorative" instead of trying to make it invisible? Maybe a strip to match the vertical pieces to extend down from the top and cover the holes? I don't know how to match wood up to wood so that the patch will contract and expand with the existing wood, be weatherproof, and not show with a new coat of paint. Hopefully someone with a trick for that will jump in and help.

Never do anything you don't want to explain to the EMT.

Senior Contributor
dad4taylor

[ Edited ]