Apprentice Member
dmiddle2

slow set epoxy

I have never used an epoxy as called for in the construction of the ZigZag Rocker, in this months issue.  Please reccomend a product and where I can purchase.

Thanks

Don Middleton

Honored Advisor
krumy205747

Re: slow set epoxy

I don't know what was called for in the article but I've been using RAKA epoxy for quite a few years. Always performs as expected and I get good service from them too. 

RAKA Epoxy

Steve K

Where do I get my wood? I'm oppor"turn"istic!!
Community Manager
MSWOODcraft

When I made a handful of rocking chairs two years ago I reached for SYSTEM 3's T88 epoxy, as sold at Woodcraft.

It's got a recommended 24 hours of setup time, and it worked out beautifully.    Be sure to tape around the joinery with blue tape and be prepared to remove the tape in a couple of hours, after the epoxy starts setting up but before it actually gets hard.  This makes cleanup around the glue joints MUCH easier.  

Best,

Matt Seiler
Wood Online Moderator

Honored Advisor
kmealy

Also sold at Rockler if that's more convenient for you, or want free shipping.

http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=5337

MSWOODcraft wrote:

When I made a handful of rocking chairs two years ago I reached for SYSTEM 3's T88 epoxy, as sold at Woodcraft.

It's got a recommended 24 hours of setup time, and it worked out beautifully.    Be sure to tape around the joinery with blue tape and be prepared to remove the tape in a couple of hours, after the epoxy starts setting up but before it actually gets hard.  This makes cleanup around the glue joints MUCH easier.  

Apprentice Visitor
dpinoy

I have never applied epoxy.  I have purchased the epoxy and the hardener.  I need to know how to apply the epoxy.  Do I put it on both faces of the joint?

Honored Advisor
kmealy