Reader
Peter_R

Limitations to consider for a cold woodshop?

[ Edited ]

Hello,  Im trying to find some information about working in a cold woodshop for the winter months.   Im in Ontario Canada so yeah it gets fairly cold in the winter.  My shop does have a wood stove in it but I doubt it is enough to keep it heated when not consistently tended. 

I have been a home builder by trade for the last 10 years and am finally taking the plunge and beginning my own business.  I have an outdoor garage that is 15' wide, 25' long and 10' high to use as my shop.  Its not the largest shop in the world, but I can make it work.   I will mostly be working on site but I am going to use the shop a great deal and am wondering what challenges I need to be aware of when a shop gets cold and hot all the time.  I will be wanting to build cabinets and built-ins for clients on a small scale.  Most likely no full size kitchens with this setup for the most part, especially in winter.   I think my main concerns are wood acclimatizing, glue-ups, finishing etc??.   I have the option to use my basement as a shop but the ceilings are only 7.5' high and with the current location of the entrance to the basement, getting material and cabinets in and out would be tedious.

I currently do not have a lot of money to buy a furnace.  The whole garage is insulated with R10 between the 2x4 studs and R20 in the ceiling.  The garage door is a weak point that I will have to replace.  Any help pointing out problems I may encounter and also any techniques to deal with these problems would be appreciated.

Peter

Senior Advisor
fredhargis

Re: Limitations to consider for a cold woodshop?

[ Edited ]