Reader
jkambute

Kitchen Cabinet Design - CAD Software

I'm planning on remodeling my kitchen and want to build the cabinets. I'm an above average woodworker with 25+ years under my belt, and have the shop/machinery to tackle the task.  I have experience in mechanical and architectural drawing (albeit from 25+ years ago) and could design/draw it myself, but I'm looking for an easier way.   (I know that may sound lame but my job has me on the road 1-2 weeks every month so I'd rather spend my time fabricating vice drawing!) The ideal program I'd be interested in would be to plug in the basic dimensions: heighth, width, and depth and POW, it gives me the dimensions of every piece in the cabinet: rails, stiles, etc. and hopefully a list/bill of materials so I would know how much to purchase.

If I'm living in a fantasy world and this is not possible, I guess I'll "go back to the drawing board!" 

I've talked to two cabinet companies here in the Tampa, Fl area and they spent most of their energy trying to convince me I couldn't do it myself...even after they look at some of the furniture I've made. Go figure! 

Honored Advisor
ynoT

Re: Kitchen Cabinet Design - CAD Software

Head on down to Woodworking Software Forum.

Fine folks there will be happy to help you :-))

Cheers,

Tony

"Why worry about things you can't control when you can keep yourself busy controlling the things that depend on you."
Esteemed Advisor
Warped and Twisted

[ Edited ]

In my opinion, Software powerful enough to do what you want it to would be very expensive and the learning curve would most likely take almost as long to learn it as it would to build your kitchen.

Not worth the time and expense for one kitchen.

Alaskans for Global Warming

Find more about Weather in Eagle River, AK
Click for weather forecast