Apprentice Member
freckles

How to make curved furniture?

[ Edited ]

I'm an extreme newbie to building furniture. I came across a website with a lot of great plans and want to start building. Lucky for me my bf has a basement full of tools.

This probably isn't a beginner project but I really like the look of bombe chests but don't understand how they are built. To my knowledge you can't bend and curve wood, so that would mean they have to carve the curved drawers, sides etc... out of a sheet of wood. But wouldn't that have to be a pretty thick piece of wood? The legs I sort of understand but the sides and drawers I don't. The drawer fronts are not only curved from side to side but also appear to have a bow to them in front, if that makes any sense.

Including a couple links so that you can see what I'm talking about:

Link 1

Link 2

Link 3

And while I'm not interested in building anything like this....this picture actually illustrates my question better

Extremely Exaggerated Curved Furniture

Veteran Advisor
ericjoseph2001

Re: How to make curved furniture?