Contributor
LarryEd44

Dovetail Drawer Slides??

[ Edited ]

This will sound real simple to most of you, but I am still pretty new to woodworking.  I'm building a box 16" W X 14" H X 11" Deep.  I'd like to put a couple of drawers in it.  The last one I build I just cut a 1/4" grove in the side of the box and use an extended bottom also 1/4" of the drawer as the rail to slide in the slot.  It kind of wobbles a little and I figured a dovetail would be more solid.

Any tips on how to use the dovetail bit to cut a drawer slide on both sides of the drawer.  I know on the box it is pretty straight forward.  Just put the bit in my router table and run the side over it.  The box is not glued up yet.  Just not clear on how I use the dovetail bit on the sides of the drawer.  Thanks everyone, Larry

Here is my first box.

4218i6FA67FC7FA75399F

Advisor
whitedogstr8leg

Re: Dovetail Drawer Slides??

I'd cut the Dovetail groove in the drawer sides.   The Dovetail  "pin" I'd cut on some scrap, rip the "pin" part off the scrap board, and then attach this "pin" to the sides of the case.   

smarter than a doorknob, meaner than concrete

"KNIFASIGNIKEHT"
Senior Contributor
rph816

Don't know much about the drawer slides, but nice box.  Are those custom Ruger 22/45s?  Love those little pistols, I've got one that is more accurate than me and ultra-reliable.  Fun pieces.

Ryan

Honored Advisor
mathisonr1

I'm having trouble linking things up but if you google 'how to build wooden drawer slides' you'll see what whitedog is talking about.

Rick

Rick Mathison
General Forums Host
"I believe that to have a friend, a man must be one."
Contributor
LarryEd44

[ Edited ]

Thanks, whitedog, I think I got the plan now.