Senior Reader
Don686

Building a bridge over culvert

I am a novice woodworker...looking for help on the planning of how to construst a 10' ft. small arc wooden bridge from yard sidewalk over the culvert ditch to street mailbox.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks,

Don,

don.simmons@att.net

Honored Advisor
mathisonr1

Re: Building a bridge over culvert

HERE is one that will last forever.

http://www.woodmagazine.com/woodworking-plans/outdoor/furniture/arched-garden-footbridge/

HERE is another one.

http://www.redwoodgardenbridges.com/Garden-bridges-plans-c-75.html

Rick

Rick Mathison
General Forums Host
"I believe that to have a friend, a man must be one."
Honored Advisor
JL North GA

Don686 wrote:

I am a novice woodworker...looking for help on the planning of how to construst a 10' ft. small arc wooden bridge from yard sidewalk over the culvert ditch to street mailbox.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks,

Don,

don.simmons@att.net

What sort of arc do you want??  Do you want the top and the bottom to have an arc or just the top??  How much of an arc do you want?
Figure you want three "beams" to your bridge.  Side-center-side.  The "easiest" way is to get 10' long 2 x 12"s.  Get a nice thin piece of lumber that is ~3/16 or so thick x 12' long.  Fasten one end on the bottom corner of your 2 x 12.  Bend it to a pleasing arc that ends on the other bottom corner.  Draw the line.  You'll want ~5" or so thickness for your beam.  Draw another line parallel to the first one and 5" away.  Hopefully it won't extend past the top part of the 2 x 12.  If it does, joint the upper surface of the 2 x 12" and glue what you need on the top (could be all you need is a small section of 2 x 4).  Get out the jig saw and start sawing.