Apprentice Visitor
mbk0000

Refinishing epoxy resin bar tables??

Hi all, i'm an artist that has been hired to oversee the refinishing of 12 bar tables I created about 4 years ago.  The problem is I just did the artwork on the tables and then handed them over to the old owner of the restaurant who had them finished with a layer of pourable epoxy resin about 1/8"-1/4" thick.  They are scratched and some have yellow-brown spotches all over them (i'm assuming the heat from the plates maybe?).  He wants them to look new again but I have no idea how to fix the epoxy coating.  Anyone have any advice on refinishing this type of resin surface?  I've read that it can be sanded and then repoured but I can't seem to find specific information.  Any advice would be awesome!  And if anyone knows someone living near the Memphis, TN area that has experience refinishing this stuff tell them to email me at mbk0000@gmail.com about a potential job!  Thanks in advance!

Esteemed Advisor
Larry-Jenkins

Re: Refinishing epoxy resin bar tables??

Meredith..

Welcome to WOODs Forums.  You chose the best there is.

Recognizing that you will get a lot of great advice concerning your poured epoxy table top concerns, here's an idea you might try.

Go to an auto body Supply store and get a polishing compound called "Finness." (sp)  It's a very fine grit liquid that is applied with a power buffer that has a lambs wool "bonnet" on it.  It's used to buff out automobile paint jobs. 

If the scratches are no too deep, or the coloration is shallow, The Finness might remove the imperfections.  If the scratches are removed, but the coloration is still there, you may have to sand the surfaces with a random orbit sander with several grits of paper and then polish with the Finness.

Larry 

Good enough.. Isn't.
Honored Advisor
amateur60