Apprentice Member
bmarion5

Oak cabinet Finish

Just recently completed building a new cabinet built from red oak plywood and red oak hardwood. Was planning to finish with Waterlox. It will be stained with an oil based stain by daughter-in-law request. Have read numerous postings about Waterlox and have read their procedure recomendations several times. I am a beginner and do better at wiping than brushing. I have Waterlox original sealer and have used it before, but only on bare wood and I really like the color it brings out. I am open to using another finish if it is better suited for my problem. The cabinet will be inside and not used in a kitchen or harsh environment. Most likely in a living room or den.

I am somewhat concerned about applying over the stain. In some test the stain is easily wiped off by the mineral spirits in the waterlox, even after waiting several days. I have read in some post about using Shellac as a sealer over the stain and then Waterlox. Is this a good method and/or is there a better procedure out there I have not seen. The Waterlox procedure is to apply over the stain. I am using General Finishes Oil Stain and their recomendations are to wait 72 hours and about directly.

Looking for some advice before I make a mess of a project I have a lot of time in.

Thanks for any advice.

Bobby
Honored Advisor
Steve Mickley

Permit me to begin …

[ Edited ]

Bobby;

… by welcoming you to the WOOD Magazine Forums, particularly to the Finishing & Refinishing Forum. I hope you will visit often. You will find a number of accomplished woodworkers and finishers here who stand ready to assist you with your finishing and refinishing questions.

The finish schedule you have presented will work just fine; but, let me comment on what you intend to do by dissecting your planned approach.  You wrote: