Apprentice Member
Lexus50

HVLP Sprayer - how to determine Nozzle/Needle & Air Cap size

I am a woodworker and want to spray varnish and poly (oil & water), stains and lacquer. I would also like to spray acrylic latex paint, and oil based enamel paint on inside trim and cabinets.

I have acquired an Accuspray 230 HVLP system with the series 10 bottom feed gun (non bleeder).

I have Needle/Nozzle sizes 0.9, 1.1, 1.3 and Aluminum Air Caps 6,7,8,9 & Delrin Air Cap 10.

I have seen numerous charts for the Accuspray on the internet that show all kinds of combinations of N/N sizes with various Air Caps sizes for the same N/N.  Small N/N with big AC, big N/N with small AC.

Then there is the fan pattern, and fluid amount and the "to thin or not to thin" product verses increasing the N/N.

Then the viscosity cup - some use #4 Ford, other #2 Zahn. And where do you find the flow spec of a product anyway?

Where does one start? With the N/N size for the product being used? Why would you use an air cap different from the one "normally" sold as a set?

Thanks for any guidance.
Honored Advisor
kmealy

Re: HVLP Sprayer - how to determine Nozzle/Needle & Air Cap size

[ Edited ]

I would seriously reconsider the deisre to spray oil-based poly and oil-based paint.    These just dry very slowly.   The atomized droplets will float around, land on something, then cure.   Compared with faster drying products such as acrylic, lacquer, and shellac where the atomized droplets float around, dry, then land as dust on surfaces.