Apprentice Visitor
ffootball081
Accepted Solution

Finishing techniques for birch plywood cabinets

Help is needed! Let me start by saying I am very new to woodworking but thoroughly enjoy it and have already learned a great deal reading your forums. I have read all your postings on how to finish birch plywood but I am still unclear as to what techniques I need to use. I am building cabinets for my home office and will be using birch plywood- already cut to size. After reading your postings, I did not realize how difficult the finishing process would be before I bought the wood. The birch plywood I am using has a very red tint to the wood – heartwood I am guessing – and has a very nice looking grain pattern. I would like to keep the cabinets as natural/clear color as possible. Can someone tell me the best techniques to use to get the natural look – from sanding to stain? Please be as descriptive as possible, or suggest where I may find descriptive instructions. I apologize ahead of time if I am not asking the right questions or describing what I am looking for – very new to this. Thank you in advance and I am looking forward to your suggestions.

Honored Advisor
Steve Mickley

Before we get to the cabinet finish…

Gregg;

…let me welcome you to both woodworking and to the WOOD Magazine Finishing and Refinishing Forum.  I hope you will visit often.