Apprentice Contributor
caleb_forster

Best finish for cherry kitchen cabinets, natural

I saw a sample from a cabinet shop of a natural cherry finish, it was just a clear conversion varnish finish they claimed.  Looked a little darker than I would think of natural cherry. 

Anyway, is there any finish that could be wiped or brushed onto a new set of cherry cabinets that would look similar to a conversion varnish or other spray on professional type finish?  I am not equiped to spray on finish and normally just do a wipe on poly for my small furniture projects.  The most complicated finish I've done is a shellac seal coat with a dye and top coat of wipe on polly.  I have never sprayed but could possibly borrow an hvlp sprayer and do a precat laquer or something like that.  I've never used it.

So any recommendations for the best diy finish for cherry cabinets? 

btw-it is all new construction & I would have proper ventilation and respirators available.  But I am a novice really.  the cabinet style is flat panel shaker style or mission style doors & drawers. 

I am buying the doors and drawers pre-made and building the bases and uppers w/ cherry plywood and select grade face frames.

thanks for any tips.

Contributor
johnnyc2993903

Re: Best finish for cherry kitchen cabinets, natural

Cherry does darken over time, so that may be why is appeared darker than you think natural cherry should.  I can say that the finish schedule of choice among many forum members here is an application of boiled linseed oil and topcoat with an either alkyd or phenolic resin varnish (i.e. Waterloox, Pratt & Lambert No. 38, Cabbot 8000).  I can attest to that schedule as I used it on a shaker inspired bar table I made a couple of years ago.  The figure of the cherry was beautiful and has improved even more as it has aged.  It will be darker than the naturla cherry though.

Advisor
jandsjacobson99